I Can’t, God Can

When I woke this morning, I didn’t feel rested.  Last night I couldn’t get to sleep because of certain problems on my mind.  I was concentrating on “my” method of fixing people and situations.  It’s funny that we think that if we think hard enough on something, we WILL find a solution! After all, don’t we know what is best for someone else and the right way to go about it? I had to laugh at myself.  When I feel this frustration and discontentment, I realize that I have been working on my own strength and not God’s.

I can’t create a new heart in anyone, and I can’t change the world.  The world is under Satan’s sway.  The mindset of the world is to think good is evil and what is evil good.

Isa 5:20 “Woe unto them that call evil good and good evil; that put darkness for light, and light for darkness; that put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter!”

Mt 6:23 “But if thine eye be evil, thy whole body shall be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in thee be darkness, how great is that darkness!”

The one thing that I can depend on is God’s Word.  He promises to create in me a clean heart, not I someone else’s.  

I have a hard enough time keeping myself in line, let alone someone else.  Changing someone is God’s business.  I don’t want to put myself in the place of God!

Ps 51:10 “Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.”

It is not to say that we don’t guide our children’s heart, to chasten our children, to put in them God’s mind (ways of living).  That’s our responsibility.  It’s good and right that we teach them the way of God and bring them up in the admonition of the Lord.  We have to ourselves be chastened by God to understand it well enough to teach it.

 Eph 6:4 “And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.”

 Heb 12:7 “If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not?”

Feeling that total frustration this morning, I realized that God was chastening me for not believing that God can do all things.  Not believing what God says in His word has its own punishment – discontentment.  God has so many promises in His word that we can replace our fear and worries with.

My minister Randy D’Alessandro gave a sermon, teaching how to deal with tough trials in your life.  We all have had our “Goliaths” in our life.  Here is what he admonished:

1.  Make the problem God’s problem.

2.  Make Ready

3.  Position yourself to win!

   

I Can’t, He Can

 Sometimes my days bring peacefulness

But oft times tension, fear

If I don’t focus on the Lord

And ask Him to draw near

 

I just fret on all that’s wrong

And worry ’bout the strife

Since I can’t fix it all right now

What’s good about my life?

 

I fix upon what God can’t do

And struggle with “I can”

God’s not fast enough for me

An answer I demand

 

But patience has her perfect work

So, now I must let go

Commit myself to suffer long

 And kindness I must show

 

Leaving God to be the judge

Of works of every man

For I cannot change anyone

But I know One Who can

 

He’s the One who patiently

Provides what we must learn

At the time that He deems best

Each heart He does discern

 

 So, today I come to Him

In light of His great plan

Letting go and letting God

For when I can’t, He can!

 

~April 17, 2010 

Jas 1:4  “But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”

 1Co 13:4  “Charity suffereth long, and is kind.”

 Php 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

 

Published in: on April 17, 2010 at 3:26 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/i-cant-god-can/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for sharing your poetry, Mom. It’s very encouraging.

  2. Thank you for the link, Diane! I love the poem, and needed to read it today.


Leave a Reply

