God’s Vessels

 

God’s ways are so awesome and higher than our ways.  There was a time in my life that I was very angry with people in my life that gave me no end of frustration.  Why is God allowing this to happen to me? Why doesn’t God see that they are a thorn in my flesh?  I constantly prayed that God would fix them or at least make the trial go away.  I obviously didn’t see what God was doing.  He was showing me what kind of mind I had. It certainly wasn’t His! Trials do bring out our carnal nature!

I read, though, in God’s word that trials are necessary for my growth.  God has actually put them in my life at times to try me and test me.  These trials of all sorts are there to make my faith stronger and deeper and to build in me His patience.  They help me to see myself as I really am.  He is forming me and shaping me into His likeness.  He is the potter.  I am the clay.  With that, He also gives me the strength to endure.  What would we pay for this?  God thinks this is worth alot.  He calls what we gain from these trials treasures.  How much do we treasure becoming like Him? 

Ro 5:3 And not only so, but we glory in trials also: knowing that trials work patience;

Ro 5:4 And patience, experience; and experience, hope:

Lu 12:34 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

FOR TODAY:  Let’s thank God for our trials even though they may seem burdensome at times, knowing that He has a plan to create in us His very mind. For this we can be truly thankful, though at times it can be burdensome.  God will certainly give us the strength to endure if we seek Him and rely on His strength.

Jas 1:4 But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

God’s Vessels

In God’s house are vessels 

They’re many He does choose

Of gold, wood, clay and even earth

For tasks that He does use

 

To bring to pass His purposes

To bring all men to Him

We should not criticize His plan

Or shun the place they’re in

 

Why should we use a yardstick

For God we all do stand

How can we judge another’s worth

A servant, child, or man?

 

Let us not cement in stone

Each other’s weaknesses

For when we do, we’re privy to

Destroying his success

 

No man can take the place of God

Or counsel that He gives

To intimately teach each man

Or guide  the way  he lives

 

God will say,  Did you my son

Not love your enemy?

Did your conduct show My love

And find the good in He?

 

Did you say, Come over near

And let me wash your feet?

Did you fast and pray for him

And welcome to your feast?

 

Even when you knew that one

Had surely wronged his brother

Did you think the worst of him

And go and tell another?

 

Or did you first go to that man

In meekness for to share

And try to help him see the wrong

For this is how I care

 

Love is mercy, love is kind

I’m shaping you, you see

Let me now create you

In ways that reflect me

 

Then you my son, my vessel

 If your purge it clean

I’ll use to glorify My name

And in you I’ll be seen 

 

For in God’s house are vessels

Of gold, wood, clay and earth

Come learn of Me and follow Me

Be vessels of great worth!

 

~July 1995

 

 2Ti 2:20 But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and of earth; and some to honour, and some to dishonour.

Isa 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

 Mt 5:40 And if any man will sue thee at the law, and take away thy coat, let him have thy cloke also.

 Ro 14:4 Who art thou that judgest another man’s servant? to his own master he standeth or falleth. Yea, he shall be holden up: for God is able to make him stand.

Published in: on April 29, 2010 at 2:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/gods-vessels/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

