Letting Go

I saw a fledgling eaglet

Fall from a branch on high

I quickly did retrieve it

For there was danger nigh

 

I cupped it in my hands so tight

It lacked the air to breathe

And in my quest to rescue him

I could no life perceive

 

Just then I saw another fall

So quietly I stood

I didn’t know just how to help

So prayed to One who could

 

In time the mother bird flew near

To help her young to fly

She nudged him to the nearest cliff

Was I to just stand by?

 

She gave a push and off he went

And to my great surprise

The little one gave way to flight

Just soaring through the sky

 

So after that, each day I came

To watch the young ones grow

To bring me to remembrance

For growth you must “let go”

 

September 1993

Deut 32:11-12 “like an eagle that stirs up its nest and hovers over its young, that spreads its wings to catch them and carries them on its pinions.  So the LORD alone did lead him.”

 

Published in: on May 3, 2010 at 2:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/letting-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

