Women Of Valor And The Gospel

Young women of God, the gospel message is not just for preaching to the nations about the coming Kingdom of God through telecasts, internet, magazines or booklets.  The gospel is also the message of the Kingdom of God that we live in our lives.  You need both! Christ told the Pharisees, “The Kingdom of God is among you.” He taught them that the Kingdom of God is also a way of life.  He was the example.  Preaching without substance is  Pharisaical, and God condemned them.  Why?  Because they were to represent God in the way they conducted themselves. Consider this.  God calls people into the church, but what happens when they get here? If we are not the example of living God’s way of life, if we bear no fruit, our proclamation is in vain!  Do you take this seriously?  It is a heavy responsibility.  YOU are part of the gospel message!

Proverbs 31 talks about the virtuous woman.  The word virtuous is a term that means “valiant.” It is the same term used for warriors in the Bible

What are the weapons of war that you need to become valiant? What is your amour?

Psalm 34:14 “Seek peace, pursue it earnestly.”

I have to say that for the first 25 years of our marriage I didn’t study or pray everyday, but I did write poetry, journal and read the Psalms to help me relate to God.  I began listening to the Bible on tapes while driving and while doing housework for the last three years.  I have noticed my relationship with God has been stronger and stronger.  I had a hard time praying.   How do I relate to God? Will He hear me?  I also began to converse with Him via my writing.  At the end of my writing, I would try to find a verse that related, a promise of God that I could gain courage from.  At first, I did not always believe all of these promises, but in time I began to.  That was my beginning.  God’s word is truly amour. Here are two ways you can use to put on that amour.

~ Study ~

Never give up seeking God.  Read God’s word daily! There are many good books out there written by Christian women that have good avenues to consider in your life, but remember – you have a very wise and wonderful instruction book from God Himself, the Bible.  Take the time to read it everyday.  If you don’t have the time to read because your day is too hectic, then listen to the Bible on tapes or CDs.  You can listen while you drive or do housework, anyway you can. When I first began listening to God’s word daily, it significantly changed my life.  So, it’s all very good! Read the Proverbs daily, even if it’s just a few verses.  The kings of Israel had to write (copy) the whole Bible by hand as one of their duties as rulers.  Why? So that could instruct the people and rule their nation in a Godly way.  They had to put those in charge who would carry out those laws in his kingdom as well.  

De 17:18 And it shall be, when he sits upon the throne of his kingdom, that he shall write him a copy of this law in a book out of that which is before the priests the Levites.

The priests were to be skilled in God’s law, teaching his chosen people how to live a Godly life.  The people were also to teach all these things to their children.  This was and still is a command of God.

Will we someday be heirs together with Christ and help Christ rule the nations? Will we also be priests? 

 1Pe 2:9 But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvelous light:

Mal 2:7 For the priest’s lips should keep knowledge, and they should seek the law at his mouth: for he is the messenger of the LORD of hosts.

Re 1:6 And hath made us kings and priests unto God and his Father; to him be glory and dominion for ever and ever.

We have the responsibility to train up a future army of Christian men and women of God in a world of darkness.  That’s your children!!!! Don’t ever take that lightly! They are holy because you are holy.  I use to put verses on paper and attached them around the kitchen wall.  As they memorized them, they would get a sticky star.  🙂

~ Prayer ~

Prayer is a mighty tool in the hands of Christians today.  What a privilege to have open communication with Him.  This is one of the very purposes for His sacrifice.

Heb 10:19  Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus.

Don’t forget that God hears our prayers!  God honors women who seek Him, who keep returning to Him, beseeching Him.

Why pray? You might say, God wouldn’t hear me.  I’m so far from doing the right things that God would not take notice.

It is hard to admit our failings.  I will be the first to admit that I have had a lot of failings as a wife and mother.  There was a time that I wouldn’t even mention what they were in fear of brethren thinking that I wasn’t really called by God. However, that is for another post. 😉  Nevertheless, God brought me through my failings and made me stronger.  I can say with certainly that He answers my prayers even though I am imperfect.  God is looking at the heart, not the failings.  So, continue to go to God in heartfelt prayer, no matter what you are having difficulty with.

Lu 18:1 And he spoke a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;

Lu 18:2 Saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man:

Lu 18:3 And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary.

Lu 18:4 And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man;

Lu 18:5 Yet because this widow troubles  me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.

Lu 18:6 And the Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge says.

Lu 18:7 And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?

Lu 18:8 I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?

Well, you might say, that was then and this is now! Prayers aren’t answered in a direct way anymore! I beg to differ with you.

God is still alive and answering prayers.  We may not like His answer at times, but He always answers.  Many times God does this for our benefit or the benefit of others whom He is working with. It’s not always about US.  He also waits to answer prayers to give us patience. “Let patience have her perfect work.”

Yet, when He does answer, God certainly builds our faith in Him.  For example, I read in the Old Testament that you were to offer your firstborn son to Him because the firstborn sons are God’s for His service.  Of course, that doesn’t apply today; nevertheless, it was in my heart.

Numbers 8:17 “For all the firstborn of the children of Israel are mine, both man and beast: on the day that I smote every firstborn in the land of Egypt I sanctified them for myself.”

When I brought home my only son from the hospital, I got down on my knees and I told God that this is my offering to him in faith.  I never told my son what I had told God so many years ago until he applied for job at church headquarters. He now works for the “Work,” helping to send out the gospel to all nations.  God still hears prayers! More importantly, I prayed that my children would be caring and loving individuals, and all four are a blessing in that way and much more! I couldn’t have asked for a bigger blessing!

~ Make Ready! ~

There are so many distractions that can consume us and keep us from putting on this amour of God, making us susceptible to Satan and his fiery darts.  Studying God’s word and prayer will make us strong.   Study and prayer are not easy things to do all the time, especially if you have a job or children to care for – but remember that God promises to bless you if you do.  God blesses those who tithe monetarily.  How much more will he bless if we give God our time as an offering in study and prayer?  God knows that He will have a closer relationship with us and will help us through our day.  He can empower us with the Holy Spirit and can give us strength and encouragement to deal with any problem or situation we find ourselves in.

FOR TODAY:  Let’s remember that we have a vital part to play as women in God’s church to preach the gospel by the way we live.  Let’s put on the armour with prayer and Bible study to guard against Satan’s influences.  This is so important that God has given us the title, “virtuous woman ~  woman of valor.”

Be strong, women of God.  Put on your armour!

 

Women of Valor

They say that man is mighty,

He governs land and sea;

He wields a mighty scepter

On lower powers than he,

But mightier power & stronger

Man from his throne has hurled,

For the hand that rocks the cradle

Is the hand that rules the world”

Thank you ladies for your selfless sacrifice for the welfare of your family and for our society.

What Is Your Destiny?

Find out what God has in store for you personally, to become God’s very sons and daughters, to be heirs with Christ, awaiting his wonderful world tomorrow! Their booklet is free of charge.

http://www.gnmagazine.org/booklets/WD/default.asp

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/women-of-valor-and-the-gospel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for this wonderful post! It’s a reminder that I need often – to include God every day, in every way! Psalms, here I come 🙂

  2. This was just what I needed this morning….thank you so much..@

  3. I am blessed by this write up, it really encourages me, thanks


Leave a Reply

