Spread Out Your Wings

Spread out Your wings to comfort me

Oh God, my joy and peace

Give to me the balances

To let my pain release

 

My soul does groan and ache for you

Like deserts pant for rain

Please fill me with Your spirit

To restore me once again

 

My members find no solitude

They cry to You on high

Create in me a spring of hope

Oh God, my strength draw nigh!

 

Restore in me a quiet heart

That ponders all Your ways

So that Your love can be revealed

To strengthen all my days

 

Pour out your endless mercy

To quiet me within

To pardon my iniquities

And cast aside my sin

 

So hide me ‘neath Your wings oh God

And quicken me once more

With love that’s never ending

And peace I’m longing for

 

~ March 1994

 

This poem was written in a time of great distress in my own life. Today I would like to dedicate it to Jill and Kevin, who had only a few short hours with their precious Sara born one week ago. Our prayers and love from the ladies of this blog go out to you!

  

Published in: on June 4, 2010 at 1:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/spread-out-your-wings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

