Psalms At Dusk

Psalms 102:1 “A Prayer of the afflicted, when he is overwhelmed, and pours out his trouble before the LORD. Hear my prayer, O LORD, and let my cry come unto thee.”

Psalms 107:19 “Then they cry unto the LORD in their trouble, and he saves them out of their distresses.”

Within the last 24 hours I have received a wonderful answer to my prayer for someone I love in distress, yet the prayer I prayed to the Father for wisdom on the part of certain people in my life is not coming to pass.  This causes me much sorrow at times. 

I went outside just after the sunset and stood there for a while as I saw the shadowy trees against the blue night sky.  Mars and Jupiter stood out against the dark of the sky before the stars all showed their brightness.  Where are you God?  Why haven’t you heard my plea to you?  I’ve prayed and prayed for an answer for years and years, and I get nowhere with some people whom I trusted.

The longer I stood outside, the cold spring breezes blowing against my cheeks, the more I realized that a Creator put these natural phenomenons in place. They are steadfast because of  His word.  Those stars are hanging on nothing, and those trees that were swaying in the breeze below the night sky grew not by my hand or my prayers, but by Someone who is in total control.  Ok Father, I said, I’m beginning to understand.  You are in control.  I’m not.  YOUR hand created them.  Also, by YOUR hand, you create a clean heart in men and not by my force.  My heart began to settle.  “Trust in Me” He said to me.  “Only I create a clean heart in man, not you.”  (Psalms 51:10)  “Wait, I say, wait on the Lord.” 

Psalms 27:14 “Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.”

These are only a few prayers that were prayed in desperation and with much fervor.  Sometimes God gives us the answer we beseech Him for, and at other times it seems He is silent…but is He?  How can God be so quick and loving in one area and then seems to refuse to hear us in another; in fact, sometimes in such a short time period?   

I’m learning, ever so slowly at times, to trust God in all answers, knowing that my thoughts are not His thoughts.  My ways are not His ways. 

Isaiah 55:8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.”

Isaiah 55:9 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

There is much to learn in the way that God molds our minds and hearts.  I’m not the Master Potter.  As I begin to get the bigger picture in this, the more I am at peace.  It’s not just for us that we go through trials, but also for others around us, to create a clean heart in them as well.  Are we willing to sacrifice for the change in someone else’s heart? 

Isaiah 64:8 “But now, O LORD, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand.”

Selah.

Published in: on March 8, 2012 at 1:16 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/psalms-at-dusk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

