Where My Treasure Is

“The key to motivating any person is by meeting that person’s deepest need.”

The above quote is from Dr. Eggerich’s book Love and Respect, which I read last month and learned so much from. Although it is a marriage book, I pondered long and hard on what it means in the realm of child-rearing.

I’m going to be totally honest with you here. People often come up to me and tell me how great my kids are and how amazing I am for raising 5 children. They think I’m some kind of super mom. But really, I have some serious shortcomings when it comes to mothering. Ones that perhaps no one but my children see.

I love my children just like every mother does, and I want the best for them.

But my own faults have often gotten in the way of the very goals I have in mothering them.

View original post 1,303 more words

Published in: on November 30, 2012 at 2:18 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2012/11/30/3143/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This reblog is from my daughter’s blog. I hope that you are encouraged by it and find it helpful in your journey of childrearing. She is a beautiful person in and out and a dedicated daughter of God. Thanks Anna.


Leave a Reply

