Passover ~ A Mother’s Thoughts

These are my own personal thoughts on the similarities between Christ’s sacrifice for me and going through pregnancy and labor, which helps me to have a different perspective on pregnancy and labor. I understand that Christ was the second Adam, and through His death, His helpmeet was about to be created through that death, but there is something that I think of as a woman concerning the Passover.

Nine is a particular number that all we women understand who have been with child.

We carry our young for nine months in the womb.  That is not an easy task.  Sometimes, we are nauseated for months, day in and day out.  We are kicked in the ribs and bladder,  lay awake half the night at the end of our pregnancy and oftentimes, experience indigestion and other difficulties.  We suffer many things for the sake of our unborn. We do it all in the name of love to see those little eyes look up at us for the first time.  A child in our likeness, in our image.

Backache

When you study the life of Christ on earth, it was wrought with much exertion.  He spent a great deal of time teaching the multitudes, feeding those who were hungry and curing those who were ill, through the power that flowed from Him. With that power, for example, He healed the women with the issue of blood who touched the hem of his garment.  He fed and nourished His disciples with spiritual meat through the umbilical cord of His own words, the words of life, so that they could begin to grow into what would be His likeness and His image. He endured ridicule from those of His own.  It must not have been pleasant to experience this for the duration of his ministry, just as it’s not always pleasant  to go through nine months of pregnancy.  He suffered hardship, but He also took pleasure in watching them grow spiritually in much the same way we find joy in the first movements of our babies within us.

Feeding 5,000

My first pregnancy, I took Lamaze classes, and I felt I could breeze through the pain, but I was wrong.  The time had come for the delivery.   I couldn’t escape what was coming every few minutes.  There was no way out.  My fate was sealed.  I’d have to endure hour after hour of pain.  I lay there on the delivery table and thought about Christ and what He went through.  His fate was sealed.  He chose to suffer for us.  What I went through was nothing compared to the suffering Christ felt.  With every contraction I thought of Christ and the His suffering along with how much greater His pain was when He was being tortured on the cross.  I began to imprint forever how much more Christ suffered for me for the joy that was set before Him.  He could see into the future years when His children would eventually be in His image. It took hours before His pain and suffering would end. 

Pain of Delivery

At the end of my deliveries and when the pain is almost unbearable, I usually cry out as I push, and think of this verse:

Matthew 27:46 “And about the [ninth] hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?”

This is what He said at the very end….”It is finished.”

John 19:30 “When Jesus therefore had received the vinegar, He said, It is finished: and He bowed his head, and gave up the spirit.”

During my time of pregnancy and delivery, I entertain these thoughts, but especially during delivery.  Even though I know that delivery is absolutely nothing compared to the tremendous suffering God suffered for me, this analogy helps me to endure all the hardships for the joy that is set before me, meeting my little one,  face to face.  God also gives us what we need during delivery to give us strength, just as Christ relied on the Father to be with Him through it all for strength and encouragement, knowing the Father’s unfailing love and plan to bring children into His family.  

Mother Meets Newborn

I am reminded each Passover, just as I went through pregnancy and delivery, Christ suffered too for the joy that was set before Him. The creation of His children, in His likeness, in His image.

I Love Comments!

Read more about God’s plan wonderful plan for man, to become His literal children in the Kingdom of God.

 http://www.ucg.org/booklet/gods-holy-day-plan-promise-hope-all-mankind/passover-why-did-jesus-christ-have-die/

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/passover-a-mothers-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

