Washing Feet ~ A Mother’s Offering

Children's Dirty Feet

One bright and beautiful day, Christy’s mind wandered as she was washing her huge pile of evening dishes, “Where can we go for the feast days this year that has a heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, so that when the kids take a nap, I can go relax in the warmth of the summer sun and soothe my weary muscles?  Perhaps Jamaica, maybe Hawaii?”  “No,” as she came back to reality, ” There just isn’t enough second tithe to take the six of us to a more costly feast site….but just imagine what I would do if I could….Ahh….what a joy that would be.”  “Bang!” went the back door. “Mommy, look what I found!” Christy, her dreams of her imaginary Hawaiian resort disrupted, is brought back to reality.  Standing at the back door on her just mopped floor is her four-year-old daughter, feet dripping with mud! “Oh no!” Christy thought.  “Jennifer, Susan, and I found this really cool mud puddle, and we were pretending to sink in the quicksand. That was so fun! I’m thirsty Mommy,” as she walked to the sink.  “Can you give me a glass of cold water?”

Do you relate to this scenario? How about disturbances every ten or fifteen minutes throughout your day with nonstop questions, feeding snacks to little stomachs that seem bottomless, stopping fights, dressing, undressing, dressing, undressing (from spills, waking, sleeping, bathing), washing their dishes, making their meals, on and on, over and over and over again.  Moms can get very weary.  I know.  I had four.

Busy Mom

Here are some things that I have learned concerning the above scenario through the act of washing one another’s feet at the Passover. Passover reminds us that we are to become humble like Christ and wash the “dirty” feet of our fellow Christians.  He set us the example, even of washing His betrayer’s feet. Our children are our little disciples.

When we serve in even the mundane everyday chores of our households, it is likened to washing others’ “dirty” feet at Passover.  It’s an act of humility, stooping down to care for someone else.  When we do this, we are doing it for Christ.  It is as if you are washing His feet. 

When God speaks about giving food to the poor, taking in the homeless, visiting the prisoners, He says that when we do it for them, we are doing it to the Lord.  

Matthew 25:34-40 “Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.  For I was an hungry and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee hungry, and fed thee or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in, or naked, and clothed thee, or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

But you say, the above people are not my family.  They are others outside our family.  Consider the words of Christ, “When you do your good deeds, do it in secret, and the Lord will reward you openly.”  These gifts of service you give to the Lord by sacrificing for your children, when no one sees, are even more appreciated by our Father and elder brother Jesus Christ.

In His words, “If you give a cold glass of water to these little ones,” you will not lose your reward.  Remember, the scenario above, “Mommy, can I have a glass of cold water?”

Matthew 10:42 “And whosoever shall give to drink unto one of these little ones a cup of cold water only in the name of a disciple, verily I say unto you, he shall in no wise lose his reward.”

 Giving Child Cup of Cold Water

During this Passover night of washing the “clean” feet of our brethren, let’s remember the real “dirty” feet of our own little ones, the world of mothers’ everyday acts of service and humility.  How awesome is this gift to wash Christ’s feet by doing it to the those who need our gifts of sacrifice more than anyone else? 

Therefore, let us remember that it’s a tremendous privilege to serve our children day and night, having the knowledge that we are serving Christ.  We can find joy in serving with this attitude in our hearts. Let’s remember that God says we will be rewarded.  I believe one of the most prized rewards is that of becoming like Him, in His image.  That certainly is a great reward for stooping down to wash our children’s muddy feet.

Foot Washing

John 13:4 “He rose from supper, and laid aside his garments; and took a towel, and girded himself.”

John 13:5 “After that he poureth water into a bason, and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel wherewith he was girded.”

John 13:14 “If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye also ought to wash one another’s feet.

John 13:15 “For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.”

I Love Comments

 

To read more about the Passover, footwashing, and God Holy Day plan for mankind, read below and send for your free booklet:

http://www.ucg.org/booklet/gods-holy-day-plan-promise-hope-all-mankind/

God's Holy Day Plan ~ Hope for Mankind Booklet

Published in: on March 24, 2013 at 8:17 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2013/03/24/washing-feet-a-mothers-gift-to-god/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] mothers, by nature, make sacrifices for their children. But what is our attitude toward sacrifice? Do we sacrifice grudgingly or with a willing spirit? As Sally […]


Leave a Reply

