Mothering Monday: Teaching Respect for the Elderly

This is one of my daughter’s posts. We involved our children in many activities to help them learn the value of getting to know and serve the elderly.

It’s the very heart of God for us to visit the “fatherless and widows in their affliction,” for this is true religion.  To have the mind of God is a virtuous woman’s most prized endeavors.

James 1:27 “Religious observance which is pure and spotless in the eyes of God our Father is this–to visit orphans and widows in their trouble, and to keep oneself uncontaminated by the world.”

Where My Treasure Is

iliana mary

“You shall rise before the gray-headed
and honor the presence of an old man,
and fear your God: I am the LORD” 

Leviticus 19:32

One of the legacies passed on to me by my parents was respect for elderly people. In today’s society where older people are often seen as irrelevant at best and useless at worst, it has become very important to me that I find a way to instill this same value into my own children. I’ve been reviewing in my mind the ways in which my parents taught us that old age was not something to disdain, but rather to honor. I’d like to share them here as a way of reminding myself of these practical ways so that I may cultivate this value in our family.

“Cease listening to instruction, my son,
And you will stray from the words of knowledge…”  

Proverbs 19:27

First, we were…

View original post 1,139 more words

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/mothering-monday-teaching-respect-for-the-elderly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

