Psalms of a Woman ~ When My Arms Do Ache

Woman Mourns Her Dead Child

When I saw the picture above in a news article of a mother who had lost her child in the massive typhoon in the Philippines, my heart melted within me.  My prayers are for those who lost loved ones so very precious to them.  Myself and many others are grieving along with those who are suffering.  I wrote this poem, remembering the pain of my own losses in my life and thought I’d share with you what had brought me through the hard times. We have comfort through His words.  The Psalms tell us of a man who was a “man after God’s own heart” who wrote psalms (poems – songs) to express his grief as well as his joys and gratitude.  I hope this poem may bring encouragement to those who are suffering and offer hope.

Father you are there for me each time my heart grows faint

Your wings are stretched to cover me, as I do on You wait

I know You collect each tear I cry, You know my hurt, my sorrow

To turn each one to tears of joy, for hope lies in tomorrow

My arms do ache to hold one lost, please give me strength today

I know I’ll see them once again, but now give peace I pray

Fill these arms with someone near, who needs Your warm embrace

You’ve given my heart empathy, to show the world Your grace

Let me be Your heart, Your hands, Your love to sooth the pain

To give a glimpse of what’s to come, to give them hope again

For a day is coming soon, when all mankind will know

Your plan that death will pass away, a new world for to know

So, thank you Father for Your grace when my arms do ache

Giving comfort, strength and hope, as I do on you wait

~ Diane Stewart November 2013

“You number my wanderings: Put thou my tears into thy bottle; Are they not in thy book?”

~ Psalm 56:8

“So when this corruptible shall have put on incorruption, and this mortal shall have put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in victory.”

~ I Corinthians 15:54

“God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.”

~ Revelation 21:4

“But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.

For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him.

For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep.

For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:

Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.

Wherefore comfort one another with these words.”

~ I Thessalonians 4:13-18

To find out more concerning our future in the soon coming Kingdom of God and what happens after death, please see the following articles and booklets: What Happens After Death and Kingdom of God

Psalms 30:5 Joy Comes In The Morning.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/psalms-of-a-woman-when-my-arms-do-ache/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

