The Anxious Mind ~ Lessons From Solitaire

Solitaire

When I woke up this morning, my mind was already racing.  What if this happens?  What if that happens? What if, what if, what if?  Do you ever have those kinds of mornings?

I sometimes will run to my Solitaire game to soothe the racing thoughts.  This morning, I felt particularly anxious and went to play a few games to settle my mind.  I found that I had left my Bible program running and forgot to close it down the night before.  So, I closed my Bible program down and turned on one of my calm-me-down avenues, Solitaire.

Do you ever have this continuing feeling when playing Solitaire that you are beginning to win and then all of the sudden get stuck? “There’s nowhere else to turn!”  This is my first game mind you.  “Okay, so this is how it’s going to go today,” I mumble to myself.  Normally, I quickly go to the next game.  This time I didn’t.  Stop! What if I’m a little more patient for once and try moving some upper hand cards to the lower hand and patiently move around a few more, patience, patience….and more patience.  But this takes time! “I don’t have all day!,” I’m thinking to myself; but I continue to try something new, being patient instead of my normal let’s move on, maybe something might work.

After about five minutes, the cards fell into place and I won the game.  Usually at the end of the game if all the cards are used, I quickly go to the next game, before finishing to place all the cards on top the Aces; but this time I waited.  Just to test my patience, one by one I placed the cards one on top of the other on their matching Aces.  Wow, that took patience on my part. I couldn’t believe how impatient I was when I took a good look at my attitude.

Victory in Solitaire

Then comes the glory celebration where all the cards start bouncing around joyfully until every card haa their say.  Once again, I didn’t want to wait, but go on to a new game, not celebrating in my victory, but this time….

I sat there and waited and pondered…

Is this the way I play out my life, so impatient? Do I take the time to stop when I’m frustrated, wait with patience and see if I can slowly work through some issues, not giving up before I go on to the next game in life, opportunity, or relationship?  And when I do win, i.e.,  life situations do work out, do I sit back and relax and enjoy the victory?

Wow, what an eye opener! What I really needed that morning was to first go to the Bible program I had left open the night before and check out some important verses about patience, longsuffering, faith and hope. These are a few things I’d like to hone in on.

“Rest in the LORD and wait patiently….” ~ Psalms 37:7

Have you ever found yourself in situations in life when you worried unnecessarily and things actually turned out for the better?  How many days have we wasted in our lives in worst case scenario thinking, when all the time God had things worked out for us concerning our difficulties or for those we love, preparing their hearts for a deeper relationship with Him?   Remember God knows the heart of men and has a plan for each and every man.  Trusting in ourselves to work out every situation in our lives is pretty prideful when it comes down to it.  After all, can’t stop the rain from falling or add one cubit to our stature, can we?

Just a little more patience….when we think we can’t endure any longer, then many things work out even better without our efforts.  Why? Because God still hears our prayers.  He, however, has a timetable that we cannot see.  He desires to build in us longsuffering and patience, to learn to wait on Him.  Those are the treasures of heaven, the spiritual aspects of love that He desires most to give to us, His children.

Also, when God does work out situations we think are impossible, do we then take the time to thank Him and rejoice? Or do we quickly go on to the next game, the next worry ASAP, like as in my Solitaire game? There are many things for me to ponder this morning after this short game of Solitaire.

Here are some verses I think about to help me when I get into a “I have to do it myself, and if I worry hard enough and long enough, I can make it happen,” attitude:

“Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” ~ Psalm 27:17

“I will praise thee for ever, because thou hast done it: and I will wait on thy name; for it is good before thy saints.” ~ Psalm 52:91

“Say not thou, I will recompense evil; but wait on the LORD, and he shall save thee.”  ~ Proverbs 20:22

“For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.”  ~ Psalms 84:11

“O fear the LORD, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him.” Psalm 34:9

“The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the LORD shall not want any good thing.” Psalms 34:10

“Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.” ~ Psalms 46:10

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  ~ Romans 8:28

My brethren, count it all joy when you have various trials, knowing this; that the trying of your faith produces patience.  But let patience have her perfect work, that you may be perfect and entire, lacking nothing.  ~ James 1:2-4

Sometimes it seems impossible to fix the trials we are faced with or have the solutions to help someone else with theirs, but how difficult is it for God?

“And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.” ~ Mark 4:39

When difficulties encompass us and we fill like we are surrounded by situations over which we have no control, i.e., storms of life, and we become filled with anxiety, let’s remember that we need not go through it alone if we call on God.  We need not let fear and anxiety overwhelm us. We don’t have to play the game of Solitaire.  We need not be all alone.  We have the Bible program continually running in our minds, which contain precious and true promises.  It’s our choice.  He is continually with us if we include Him in our life to give us strong, firm, faithful promises to calm our anxious minds.

Tempest Painting

If He can say to the wind, “Be still,” He can also calm our hearts and do wonders in our life and in other people that we love. We have to remember He did allow the waves to engulf the ship before He spoke these words, as sometimes circumstances in life feel out of control; but let us wait patiently on Him.  Be still and let Him do His work. Then we can remember to rejoice in the victory God will give to us!

Calm Sea

Prayer:  “Dear Father, We know there are things in our lives we have no control over and sometimes cause us to become anxious and lose faith in Your goodness to help.  Please help us to bring to mind the words which You have given for us to comfort us in these times.  Help us to know that You Who have created all things will work everything out for our good and those we love if I only we wait on You.  Please open our eyes to see the treasures You may be creating in us or those we love, that of patience and longsuffering while we wait on You. Help us to remember to not forget to be grateful to those who help us gain the victories in this life, especially you Father.  We thank You for this day and we ask You to please fill us with Your spirit of faith and trust in You.   In Jesus name we pray.  Amen”

I Would Love To Hear Your Comments

 

Published in: on January 9, 2014 at 7:15 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://teachtheyoungerwomen.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/the-anxious-mind-lessons-from-solitaire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

